Dubai? Where’s that? Sydney, Australia

IMG_5558

I never had any issue with parking my bike. Everywhere in the world you can park a motorbike basically wherever you want. I’ve parked on sidewalks, on driveways, on hostel lawns and even in hotel lobbies. Always for free, always without issues.

The only place this doesn’t work (or at least I know of) is Sydney. There you’re not only forced to park your bike on the street, you also have to pay for parking in certain areas. I stayed in Sydney for a couple of months and although I did follow the rules and parked my bike on the street in between other bikes and scooters, I never realised that it was paid parking as well. I could have checked beforehand but hey-ho, yolo and so on…

I was blissfully unaware of the paid parking situation until eventually actual parking fines started to appear on my bike. Neat little envelopes with 30 AUD fines. As my bike had Dubai licence plates (with the word ‘Dubai’ both in Roman and Arabic script on it) and wasn’t registered anywhere in Australia I didn’t feel obliged to pay. I’d be happy to pay if they ever would appear at my Dubai home address but for now I just ignored the fines.

Until one morning. I was packing my bike for a trip to Alice Springs. A city ranger (Sydney’s version of the traffic warden) approached me and politely told me that I’d get a fine for not paying my parking fee. I didn’t object as I was blatantly breaking the rules and continued prepping my bike. The ranger licked his pen and proceeded writing up the bike details. He had a good look at the license plate and after a moment of hesitation, asked me: “Dubai? Is that in Western Australia?

Pretty sure I’ll never receive that ticket…

Leave a comment